Home > Technology > Linux Install bites the dust

Linux Install bites the dust


Another sad day in history for me. I’ve just spent all night saying good bye to my Desktop Linux installation. I have replaced this most holy of Operating Systems with yet another install of the viruslike Windows XP! I have to say I was surprised to find that XP was more difficult to install than Linux had been, but there were just too many things I wanted to do with the machine and not enough time to relearn them Linuxlike.

Once XP was up and running, it was great. Ever since SP2, I’ve had virtually no problems with it on any machine: I rarely have to reboot and relying instead on the suspend function, it’ll run for weeks. As much as I hate to admit it – at least for the average end user who just needs the basics plus a few whistles and bells and doesn’t need any hastle – the eXPeience is ahead of the pack and getting better all the time.

But, it’s not all doom and gloom. I’m writing this very blog entry using EMACS on my Linux PDA. And it’s going to stay linux until they make Windows efficient enough to run on a handheld as well as X11 does. (Just joking about this last one!)

Categories: Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment