Home > Technology > Linux / Primetime Politician / Honesty

Linux / Primetime Politician / Honesty


As I said the other day, I’ve been reminded just how far XP has advanced. Another aspect is installation. I had IIS with ASP up and running in less than an hour.

I installed Apache with PHP in 10 minutes flat and MySQL in less than 20. I had my “Hello World” script running soon after.

An hour or so of tweaking the .ini files and I had a reasonably secure server up and running.

On the other hand in Linux, I’ve had to learn how to compile from source, solve dependancy issues (in my computer, not my life) and fight with a seemingly endless raft of command line options.

As a result, 5 hours and I have apache with a still-broken PHP, no multilingual support and no MySQL.

I haven’t even started tweaking yet!

Yes, XP is a total no-brainer in comparison! I’m tired. I’m going to bed.

Categories: Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

