Home > Technology > So, did I mention that I have a problem with my Denon A1?

So, did I mention that I have a problem with my Denon A1?


And yet another blog entry about my DVD-A1. Today, I finally got my DVD-A1 back, after… Ooh, three and a half months! They’ve had it, again, since the the end of June! That’s another three and a half months! ANOTHER THREE AND A HALF MONTHS. What on Earth are they playing at?

The bug, which -if you have a great memory you’ll no doubt remember Denon said didn’t exist- has been discovered to, well, exist. And this now existant problem, which -if you have a great memory you’ll no doubt remember Denon said was due to the extreme clarity and quality of my player- has somehow been… well… fixed, they say!

Not bad for a non-existant “feature”!

Anyway, the engineer comes over with the player a plugs it in. Fires it up and within a minute, I’ve found the chroma errors again! The engineer was incredulous and refused to believe me at first. He apparently had little to no idea of what the Chroma Bug actually is.

Just to refresh, let’s have a look at what the chroma bug does to the visual quality of an image.

Put simply, the chroma up-sampling error is the error that occurs when a faulty DVD player is displaying an image from a film encoded in a certain way. What makes this bug difficult to find is that not every player suffers from it, and not every disc causes the player to behave badly. Even worse is that not every colour is affected, only red.

Put even more simply, this fault causes red to smear on certain discs.

The following pictures show the difference in quality between the “inferior” DVD-3910 and my DVD-A1. Move the mouse over the pictures to see the A1 version and the degredation in image quality due to the chroma bug.

<pic>

Notice how the diagonal edge of the blue arrow gains a sort of magenta stepping effect!

<pic>

Notice how the red shadows of the Japanese text smear with bright, horizontal streaks.

<pic>

I saved the best for last. There’s almost no point describing this one. Just see it to believe it: It’s that bad! Spurious lines, shadows, steps… It’s got the lot!

Let’s see if they can have it back to me (working) before I move!

Categories: Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

