Home > Job > Two Weeks at the New Place

Two Weeks at the New Place


I can report that I’ve just completed two weeks at my new company. Well, what can I say? The hours are long, I work about 11 hours a day. But what a difference it makes having a job that suits me.

Despite the hours, the stress is half that of my last place and of course, the salary is significantly more.

It’s incredible, the amount of freedom I have to do the things I want to do and how the vast majority of ideas I propose are not only listened to, but implemented on the spot. The freedom takes a bit of getting used to, it has to be said.

So, what is it that I do? That’s a good question.

There are presently eight people in the company, and two of them are owners. Which leaves us six. Although I can’t speak for myself, I have to say that they picked their people well. I’m working with one of the fastest coders I’ve ever born witness to and also with an extremely accomplished system admin who also happens to be the first person I’ve ever met who uses Linux for everything, and I mean everything from his home server and PC to his laptop, his router and his PDA. He doesn’t own a single bit of Microsoft software!

There are also two tireless Japanese in the office, without whom the company would disappear under a pile of unfinished paperwork. One other is on holiday at the moment, so I’m not really sure what he does, but he’s probably good at it.

So, what is it that I do? That’s a good question.

Categories: Job
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

