Home > Mac, Tech Tips > OS X 10.5.3 Update breaks Time Machine backup with “cannot mount volume” error

OS X 10.5.3 Update breaks Time Machine backup with “cannot mount volume” error


I am using Leopard Server and was happily backing up to a Leopard Client. (Yes, my server is backing up to a Firewire mounted external volume on an OS X client machine, shared over ethernet with AFP!!)

After months of trouble free operation, I upgraded both to 10.5.3 and got the “cannot mount volume” error.

I tried several times, but it would time out with an exclamation mark icon after a few minutes, each time.

  • I switched off Time Machine
  • Disabled file sharing on the client
  • Reset the Client
  • Switched AFP sharing back on
  • Manually mounted the .sparsebundle once on the server – It mounted fine.
  • I then reenabled Time Machine, ran the “backup now” option.

In my case, the above steps fixed the problem. I now have hourly backups working again.

Categories: Mac, Tech Tips Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

