Home > 2) Music & Film > Music Listening Habits – Visualised

Music Listening Habits – Visualised


As much as I like the charts available on Last FM <- see my charts here, I was looking for something a little more visual to depict my listening habits, just for my own amusement.

I’ve found just the tool called rather catchily, “Last FM Extra Music Stats.Exe” for download (Windows Only!!!). What it does is gather the stats on your listening habits and create pretty wave graphs from them.

If you’re not familiar with wave graphs, they are basically a cumulative chart showing trends over time.

Here are two of the charts it produced. Click to enlarge.

My Top 20 artists of 2008

My Monthly Top Five Artists

After March, nearly all of the artists listed are ones I have discovered through EMusic and Last FM! I think taht’s a real testiment to the power of these new media sites. It’s now been nearly two years since I have bought CDs (The Complete Pixies Collection).

Just to show how complex these wave graphs can get, here’s my top 100!

My Monthly Top 100 Artists of 2008

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

