Home > Mac > Apple Aluminium Keyboard, Unresponsive Keys. (aka, Apple can’t even make a reliable keyboard any more.)

Apple Aluminium Keyboard, Unresponsive Keys. (aka, Apple can’t even make a reliable keyboard any more.)


In This Post I talked about Apple products failing and it saddens me to say that my selection of products are continuing to play up.

I have three desktop Macs, my aluminium iMac, an intel Mac Mini and a G4 Cube. Of these, the iMac is the only one with the new aluminium keyboard. All of the others come with one of the more “traditional”, long throw keyboards.

imac_brushed_aluminum_keyboard_full

Now, I originally raved about the keyboard, and still do. It’s beautifully ergonomic, and I swear my typing speed has increased by about 50% since starting using it. But unfortunately, for all its ergonomics, the reliability has been questionable.

Back in September, the left control key started to play up and became unresponsive.

I blew compressed air over the thing and even removed the key to see what was up, all to no avail.

I ordered a replacement keyboard on Apple Care. They very kindly sent me new one and I sent the old one back immediately.

So, you’re wondering if I’ve stooped to talking a faulty key on a keyboard and thinking, you’re really scraping the barrel.

But, bear with me…

WIthin weeks, the new one started to play up, with the “2” key becoming unresponsive and I ordered another replacement keyboard on Apple Care. Again, they very kindly sent me new one and I sent the old one back immediately.

This one has arrived and it has a spongey Return Key, that is only responsive on the bottom half, unlike the crisp Return keys of my previous ones.

So now I’ve ordered yet another keyboard. Let’s see if this is any better than the previous three.

For God’s Sake, Apple, it’s a bloody keyboard! You’re trying to tell me I can trust you to make precision built laptops with thousands of parts for the luxury market when you can’t even make a keyboard where every key works? On a keyboard, most is not enough!

Argh! Apple, sort yourself out.

  1. jasonhenle
    November 19, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Obama might get an Apple into the Oval Office Mac the Oval Office

  2. April 22, 2009 at 1:34 am

    My Aluminum keyboard cuts out sometimes while using Digidesign Pro Tools…very annoying when I’m in the middle of a recording session!

    • nanchatte
      April 23, 2009 at 12:50 am

      Ys, I bt that rally sucks whn a crtain key just dosn’t sm to work. spcially if it’s a ky you hav to us a lot.

      • branodn
        April 9, 2010 at 1:37 am

        that’s th ky that’s brokn on min too!

  3. August 3, 2011 at 4:57 am

    On mine the rubber cups under the key are giving up. I have the Left Shift, Down Arrow and the “V” key with loose cups. Very poor product in my opinion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

