Home > 3) Life > Weight Watching

Weight Watching


Over the last 17 years, I have kept tabs on my weight, on and off but had simply come to the conclusion that, just like taxes, weight is one of those things that tends to steadily increase.

Various stages in my life were met with variable weight, however each stage had something in common with all the others: I was heavier when I left than when I arrived.

I’d also come to the conclusion that weight was a monotonic function of time. Except for when I ate sushi nearly every day for six months on arrival in Japan in 1999!

Just recently, however, I noticed that I was able to fit into clothes I hadn’t been able to wear for several years and decided to keep new tabs on my weight.

This new weight watching phase was brought on by the start of Sunnyside English Café, our little venture into starting a business.

It suffices to say that my lifestyle has changed:

  • 3 hours of running around every day when teaching 2 ~ 4 year olds.
  • Regular exercise and weight training three times a week on average.
  • Running up the stairs to the ninth floor rather than using the lift.
  • Eating Less.
  • Drinking virtually no beer (!)

If you really think that you are stuck, just getting heavier for the rest of your life, take a look at this graph:

My Weight

Yep! Check that bit out on the right! That’s a decrease in weight, 16kg in just less than 6 months.

For a while, I thought I might be loosing a bit too much weight, too quickly, but this last couple of weeks,my weight has stabilised between 70 and 72kg, just where I used to be between the ages of 16 and 18! However, this time, since I’ve been working out, the only tightness in my cloths is around my shoulders and biceps.

My BMI is around 21, which is about ideal at my age and I can now run the 1.5km from the station and up nine flights of stairs to my flat without breaking into a sweat.

So, for those of you who are concerned about your weight, just start your own business right, slap bang in a recession, work 13 hours a day (just to cover the rent) Make sure you’re running around like a madman for 2~3 hours a day, quit beer and junk food due to lack of money and start ignoring the lift in your building the weight’ll melt away in no time.

Either that or go on a sensible diet.

Categories: 3) Life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

