Home > Tech Tips, Technology > Installing Japanese Sony SonicStage on English Windows

Installing Japanese Sony SonicStage on English Windows


Jan 2, 2009 -> Updated links to official Sony Web Site.

Sony Ericsson\'s excellent SO903i

Background: You can skip this and get straight to the installation bit (which is a lot shorter).

I was unfortunate (or stupid) enough to lose the media software that came with my SO903i phone, which left me without a means of getting my music onto it after a sudden OS reinstall. According to the Sony Ericsson site, Sony SonicStage CP 4.3 now has the drivers built in to handle transferring music to the built in memory or to an external CF card. I hastily went to download the Japanese version of the software, only to get an error:

Cannot install with this Windows Language. (20993)

20993? Cool! So, I went to the US site and navigated through to the download page. Clicked on the ‘I accept’ button and got the beautiful:

This Download is only available within the US

US only. Sweet.”Ah-ha!” I thought… I can just proxy the download via a US server. So I did. The required download was only about 300Kb. So proxying didn’t slow anything down.I double clicked on the and after a lengthy 20Mb download…

Please wait while your software installs.

…message at last appeared! It installed perfectly and worked first time at importing the music I’d downloaded from http://www.eMusic.com into my library. “At last, I could use my phone again,” I thought…

Or could I?I plugged my gorgeous phone in, set it to memory mode and waited while the three drive letters appeared (one for the Internal memory, one for SD and one for overpriced Memory Stick).

“Right. Now for the music!” I searched for the transcode for mobile device button, but there was no rename/transcode the required format Nor was there any DB management for the CD jackets or other info.

Blast again, tripped at the last hurdle. And so my phone lay, mostly inert for the next three months or so.

Finally, I decided to do something.

 

How to install Japanese SonicStage on an English version of Windows

NB. This does not magically translate the program into English.

Download the SonicStage installer from Sony. Here’s a link for SonicStage 4.4

Scroll right down to the bottom and click the bright blue button that says 同意する.

Here’s a direct link for those who need it.

Save this file, don’t run it.
Now, you’ll need to install a good Zip program. I like WinRAR. With WinRAR, you can right click on SonicStageInstaller.exe and click “Extract Here”.
Among the files extracted should be a file called “SetupSS.ini”
Open SetupSS.ini in your favourite editor.
Here’s what you should see. (My file  is from SonicStage 4.3)
[Initialize]
fontname         =FONT_NAME
applicationname  =APPLICATION_NAME
applicationver   =4.3
supportos        =0xf8
language         =Japanese
supportoslang    =Japanese
nonsupportoslang =
schineseopt      =1
mainsection      =SdWelcome
dlmanager        =1
dlserver         =http://dl1.aii.co.jp/...
noaskopt         =0
instssver        =4.3.04
uninstomgver     =2.2
pacsupport       =
The key is the part which says “supportoslang”
Change that to read
supportoslang    =English

Save the file

Double Cick the extracted “SetupSS.exe” to Install.

During the installer, you may see some blank dialogue boxes. Just click 次へ (next) until you reach the end of the installer.

As I mentioned, this will not translate the program into English, but it will run with full functionality, unlike the English language version of the program which lacks support for Japanese mobile phones like my Sony SO903i.

  1. KuroroLucifer
    November 27, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Man thank you for the way to put the music unto my sony MP3 it works man….. Rock on man!!

  2. January 2, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    do you know another link were i can download sonicstage 4.3? because your link you have there doesn´t works u_u

  3. nanchatte
    January 2, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Julieta, Thx for reading.

    Have you tried Sonicstage 4.4? I have updated the links above… BTW, You do mean the Japanese version of Sonicstage, don’t you?
    My instructions are for getting Japanese Sonicstage to work on non Japanese systems.

  4. 2nihon
    January 22, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Thank you very much for this information. Works like a charm.

  5. Karen
    January 30, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Thanks!!!!
    i got my mp3 on Japan too… so when i wasn’t able to install sonicstage i was like nooooo… i was using a earlier version of sonic stage.. but since i got a new computer i wanted the actual thing that came with my mp3./… thanks a lot….

  6. Still Loves SONY
    March 15, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Thank you for sharing this tip. You are incredible!! In this global economy world, SONY Japan should cater for this kind of needs in much friendlier manner.

    • nanchatte
      March 15, 2009 at 8:56 pm

      Yes, and especially since they are purportedly a global company…

  7. monsterhunter
    March 16, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Thanks so much. Im a beginner on PC and you eexplained it so its easy to understand.

    What do I do to the files that are extracted on my desktop?
    Do I just put them in one folder?

  8. Limerick
    March 20, 2009 at 1:03 am

    Hello, do you know where I could get the Sonic Stage CP ver.4.4. I tried the link above, but it didn’t work.

  9. edmar
    March 26, 2009 at 10:50 am

    tnx to you its working tnx for your adVice man ur so good

  10. Joe
    May 19, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    dude.. ty so much!

    • nanchatte
      May 20, 2009 at 11:07 am

      ur wlcm!

  11. falcon
    May 28, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    thanks!
    i have a american computer and japanese walkman s serise. the problem is i can install the software the walkman came with. and if i install a english version of sonic stage all the japanese songs come up like ?? ????? how do i fix this!! but on windows media the japanese songs come out perfectly. mybe theres a way to input music in to my walkman from windows media?!
    if you can help it would be a lot of help

    • nanchatte
      May 29, 2009 at 12:59 am

      Do you mean you can or you can’t install the software the walkman came with?

  12. Immanuel
    July 19, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Thanks man! I really needed a Japanese version of this software since most of my MP3s have Japanese filenames and tags and the English versions just can’t seem to read them. Now I can finally add more songs onto my MD.

  13. noob
    September 2, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    what a good editor program.

    if you could explain how to do this it would be awesome! sorry I’m a noob

  14. Death by Setero
    September 24, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Thanks man… this program doesn’t work on english OS…

    Many thanks… ur d man…

    • nanchatte
      October 8, 2009 at 1:07 pm

      Yes, Sony international support blows goats.
      I gor fed up with no Mac support for my music, so I just bought myself an iPhone.

      • Alex
        October 25, 2009 at 9:42 pm

        What would be the best editor?

      • nanchatte
        December 6, 2009 at 3:10 am

        I use the excellent, free Text Wrangler. Others use the free but recently developmentally, if not emotionally, abandoned Smultron.

  15. hiro
    December 22, 2009 at 9:07 am

    thank you so much!!! I tried in Thailand and now I can use.
    I’m so happy!!!!

  16. jyno
    January 7, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    ur the man!

  17. dee
    January 14, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    thanks so much!!! ^_^ This worked for me and I was really happy to finally be able to use my player.

    • March 20, 2010 at 10:23 am

      pls help me i can’t , ill try what u said but it didnt workd maybe ders somethng i missed of? i really dont know pls help me thanks!!

  18. Pablo
    March 5, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I just get it from Sony Japan’s overseas support site:
    http://www.sony.jp/products/overseas/contents/support/index.html
    (just go to Download and search for it)

  19. SpoilerMan
    April 17, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Thank you so much!
    I bought my Sony Walkman a year ago and i couldn’t install the Sonicstage. Thanks to your help, now it works!

    P.S.
    I couldn’t understand what a text editor meant.
    I searched in Google and there was a website called Crimson Editor. It basically allows you to modify the program. A notepad from windows would not allow you to do that. If you try to change the language using a notepad and try to execute the program, you will get an error saying ??????????
    You must use the text editor to edit the language. Hope this helps.

  20. May 8, 2010 at 12:00 am

    sankyuu. lifesaver 🙂

  21. June 13, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Hey, great blog, this helped me install SonicStage V.
    If you visit my blog called beshayer.com, I am currently creating a full english version of SonicStage V. I figure you might be interested.

  22. Unit
    June 22, 2010 at 1:25 am

    This works with Sony’s new Japanese X-application ver 1.1 too! Thankyou so much you are a life saver

  23. September 2, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Hi, i tried to do that bu it didn’t worked for me. My Sony Walkman model is NE-E042 and i bought it from Japan. Please Help Me in this matter. I receive this error after doing all mentioned above: Sonicstage???????????????sonicstage????????????

  24. mjmjoker
    November 14, 2010 at 7:11 am

    Wow thanks so much like someone said it works with the new x-app v1.1 saved my life

  25. jiah
    November 24, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    please ,,,,, my computer american version and my walkman japan version,,,, how do I install? thanks,,,my walkman sony NW-E043

  26. jiah
    November 28, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    my walkman finished,,,,,

  27. rufus
    January 15, 2011 at 5:41 am

    I’m trying to do what you suggested above with x-appli ver. 2 but when I right-click on the .exe “extract here” isn’t among the displayed options although I have winRAR installed. Can anyone help? お願いします!

  28. agnes
    March 24, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    thank you so much.it worked!i got my walkman from japan.i tried to install the english version of sonicstage and yes, it did worked but i can’t convert songs from my pc to my walkman so i decided install the japanese version instead and do what you just said and it just worked, now i can convert songs.
    thank you so much :]]]

  29. agnes
    March 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    well, for those who wanted to install an english version of sonicstage, here are some links: http://download.cnet.com/Sony-Connect-SonicStage/3000-2141_4-10375164.html
    http://downloads.phpnuke.org/en/download-item-view-x-b-g-g-m/SONICSTAGE.htm

    hope i too, helped you :]]]

  30. I A
    May 15, 2011 at 4:41 am

    Hi, Thanks for the tip, it worked like a charm. I mainly use this for converting MD recordings to Wav and for some reason Sonicstage 4.3 stopped converting music from my Md’s. I don’t know what happened. Did anyone else ever have that problem?

  31. thisisjuneil
    May 21, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    plsss give me answers, can this make my walkman transform into english??? coz i bought it in japan and it is jap language!!! plzz reply folks. . .

  32. thisisjuneil
    May 23, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    HI.. my walkman is in japanese language so can i ask if this can make it into english??? plssss reply

    • nanchatte
      July 4, 2011 at 11:41 am

      It won’t make your walkman English. Sorry, just the software…. There is usually a language option on the player itself…. unfortunately the language option itself is in Japanese…

      look for something like this: 言語:日本語 and change it to 英語

  33. ycar
    June 19, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    hello..can u help me to install the english os in my walkman.. this is given by my aunt from japan, and i coudnt open the music player, videos and etc. i dont know how will i set it in the settings because its language is japanese…. hope for immediate response.. thanks a lot..

    • nanchatte
      July 4, 2011 at 11:42 am

      Sorry, impossible to help unless I have the player. You’ll need to find the English language option somewhere in the menu system.
      look for something like this: 言語:日本語 and change it to 英語

  34. rizza
    July 4, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    Hi! I changed the “supportoslang” to “english”. Then upon double-clicking the extracted “SetupSS.exe”, popup says “Cannot install with this Windows Language. (20993).” Can you please tell me what to do next? Thank you!

    • nanchatte
      July 11, 2011 at 11:58 pm

      I’m really sorry, but I last used the phone on the day I bought my iPhone 3GS, about two years ago…

  35. Ready2
    August 29, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Have anyone tried this for the x-app 2001? I tried doing this and got to the install wizard where everything was “??????????” because apparently changing the system locale to japanese is not enough since the MUI font cannot display the install wizard jp fonts correctly. Anyway tried to install it nonetheless but after starting it the installer just freezes and doesnt install the app. I’m using an english windows 7 home premium. Anyone know any solutions?

  36. charlie
    September 20, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    the given link was not found

  37. Maykon Astor Yaksic Brazil
    January 2, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    I wonder if it would help me with my sony rolly, my ‘laptop is windows 7

  38. March 25, 2012 at 1:33 am

    Has anyone tried doing this with the x-appli for the walkman? I bought a nw-s645 in japan a while back and the application they suggested for this was the x-appli which is the new version of sonic stage. I live in the uk, and i go to the japanese site to download it but it gives me the exact message about the language above. I tried modifying the language as suggested but it just just keeps saying that it cant modify the archive. Can someone please help me because i’m getting so irritated with the missing album art and incorrect song titles through using windows media drag and drop. Theres an english version of the x-appli but its not the same as the japanese. Its for making scrap books and movies, and not for the walkman, so as far as i know, the x-appli is only available from the japanese website?

    THANK YOOOU!

  39. Dyana
    September 16, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    can not work, do you have any link to install?

  40. September 6, 2016 at 2:56 pm

    This method actually works with the newest x-Application (The evolution of SonicStage). Due to winrar does not allow extract the files within the app, 7zip worked for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment