Home > Mac > iMac 27″ screen repair complete

iMac 27″ screen repair complete


Intel iMac 27"

The new iMac 27" with LCD backlit screen.

 

My iMac 27″ came back from Apple after it developed dark patches on the screen and has had its screen repaired. It is now as good as new (well, technically better because I only actually bought a 24″ iMac, and this one was a replacement).

In any case, the machine is back and has been restored to its former glory.

My real worry is that, since it took 8 months for the patches manifest and suddenly, over the course of a month, spread to cover the whole screen, will I be in for another replacement in nine month’s time? I hope not because my guarantee runs out in March of 2011…. I think I’m going to have to get Apple Care, Again!

Fingers crossed.

  1. Rohit Singh
    December 30, 2010 at 1:17 am

    Apple has started blaming ‘environmental factors’ for this issue and using this excuse to deny any further replacements… AppleCare or not. I hope this never happens to you and your screen never goes bad… but just for those who are thinking of getting an iMac… beware.

  2. ARGH
    August 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Environmental factors my ass. I got the i7 27″ when it came out, and if I have to get my machine’s screen replaced, this will the be the FOURTH i7 that I will be on. The first one had a dead pixel (exchanged), and the second one had dancing colored pixels in dark areas of images on the screen (another exchange), as well as the whole left side of the screen darker and dimmer than the right side (it was split perfectly down the center). I am now on my third i7, and when it awakes, there are these splotchy patches where it is darker. After a few minutes it warms up and goes away almost 98%, but even still, this is utter bullshit. I do design for a living, as do many other folks who use macs, and to have inconsistent color like this one the machine’s biggest feature – the SCREEN – is a joke. I just hope it doesn’t get worse, but having just noticed this over the last few days, I am sure it will. And even through my HUGE fiasco with the this purchase and my two returns (again, now leaving me with my third machine), apple was not apologetic or accommodating in the slightest beyond the exchanges (which, by the way, were often handled with suspicion by smug jerks in the Apple store) which have left me with no computer and hanging out to dry professionally. This is saying nothing about the sheer amount of hassle and frustration that came along with having to reinstall all my software and files over and over and over, and getting apple care switched over form computer, to computer, to computer… and now to likely a fourth… and each time it was met with ridiculous amounts of confusion and non-standard protocol by the employe on the other end. After this experience, it’s hard to say that Apple is all it claims it is chalked up to be. The OS might be better than PCs, but after this? I find myself wondering which is worse in terms of hardware.

    • nanchatte
      August 29, 2011 at 7:05 pm

      Yes, the QC is lacking a bit… It’s interesting (in an academic sense, obviously) that you’ve had four distinct problems with your mac, but I’ve had 6 identical issues with 6 iMacs. namely patchy screens. I would say that you are the unluckier one dispute fewer overall changes.

      Good luck and hope u get it solved.

      • J
        January 1, 2012 at 8:45 am

        To other people who get this issue, I’ve solved mine:

        I started to noticed these big splodges of dark on my 27″ cinema display. It looked almost like dark greasy patches but didn’t come off, even if I ran my fingernail through them, they were apparently unaffected.

        I even started wiping the display with Apples cleaning spray and it didn’t work.

        I got a little angry and started applying lots of pressure while wiping the display a tiny bit at a time. I focused on a small patch and wiped it very hard over and over again, as long as I could keep going. After about a minute, the patch vanished. I continued over the whole screen and all the patches are gone now.

        Perhaps this is something to do with the material that the screen’s made of, but before freaking out, first try wiping a small area really hard for about two minutes solid and you might fix it.

        Cheers,
        Jamie

  3. Rubén
    June 2, 2013 at 2:14 am

    You´re totally right dear Jamie, it works! Apparently it was just moisture. Thank you so much!!!

    Cheers from D.R.,

    Rubén Santos.

  1. November 26, 2010 at 4:37 am

Leave a comment