Home > Technology > Libretto 50M makes a comeback

Libretto 50M makes a comeback


I’ve just resurrected my Toshiba Libretto 50M. I haven’t used it for a while because of overheating problems. Anyway, I found out what was causing the problem and now it runs
like a dream!
I’d installed Office XP on it (yes I did, and yes, everything except Access works) and the office Quickstart (or Quicksearch) – With its file indexing would boot up and start running constantly in the backgorund after a couple of minutes of idling.
I’d checked the Startup folder on the start menu and had a quick look in HKLM/~/RUN, but couldn’t find anything that seemed to point to a dodgy file. Having spent a good few hours cursing and scratching my head, I came across a reference to the following software which works for Windows 98 and so on:
Sysinternals Process Explorer
. With this, it was easy to locate the process which was hogging the CPU and tweak the registry to kill the offending service.

Let me tell you what I have done with this £40 mini PC.

Here’s the original spec

  • Pentium 75, 32MB RAM, 810MB HDD. 6.1" TFT LCD Touch screen.
  • Windows 95

And here’s what I’ve done with it.

  • Installed an IBM 6GB hard disk
  • Installed TEAC Wireless LAN card
  • Connected a Panasonic PCMCIA CD-RW
  • Installed Windows 98SE
  • Replaced Win98 Active Desktop rubbish with some Win95 components to increase the speed and
    now it responds quicker to mouse clicks than my Sony VAIO ever did with 2000 or XP.
  • Installed a remote desktop client called "VNC Viewer"
  • Installed Office XP
    • A little bit slow – word takes 20 seconds to boot – but it works! Also, PowerPoint is handy
      as it allows me to carry the presentation which I have been working on with me.
  • Installed Internet Explorer 5.5
  • Installed Opera and Firefox
    • Never hurts to have alternatives. Although to be honest, neither performs significantly
      better than Explorer 5.5!
  • Installed Macromedia Suite 4.
    • Fantastic! All work well, except for animated gradation backgrounds, which animate at 1FPS.
  • Installed Adobe suite (PS7, AC6). Gorgeous… Photoshop with pen input! Very nice indeed. A bit
    slow though (takes almost a whole a minute to boot).
  • Categories: Technology
    1. Eric Luo
      August 31, 2016 at 1:44 am

      hi, I have a libretto 50m but the biso was lost, any chance to re-write it? to re-write the bios, I even bought a soft disk driver.

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Leave a comment