Home > 2) Music & Film > emusic download manager blues and repurchasing

emusic download manager blues and repurchasing


emusic is really starting to take the piss. Price hikes and monthly song quota cuts has already dented its once proud image as “iTunes’s younger, cooler brother.”

Now we have a site with buggy, sub standard download software and a policy which aims to make you repurchase tracks that have failed to download fully.

OK, so what happened?

I clicked on the download button, and the album started to download. (Much slower than it used to, I might add.) I then paused the download momentarily by accident (clicking the pause button).

When I clicked resume, it resumed from the next song! I now had two 30 second snippets. Nonplussed, I cancelled the download in the hope that I could restart it… Nope

Going back to the website, I found that there was no longer an option to complete your album… I’d have to pay the whole $6 to download the whole album again!

It’s a download site, for fuck’s sake and they’re charging me PER DOWNLOAD, when it’s THEIR SOFTWARE THAT’S BROKEN.

I really think that this time, I’m done with emusic.

For reference, here’s the mail I sent to their customer support… Not my most eloquent prose, I must admit.

"To whom it may concern"
I paused the download.... when I resumed, 
it tried to download the next track... 
I now have four half downloaded tracks....
I thought if I cancelled the downloads,
and reselected them manually I'd be ok...
but IT SAYS I ALREADY DOWNLOADED THE TRACKS.
With the OPTION OF REPURCHASING (WHAT THE F***?!)
ARE YOU KIDDING!
This is not good enough... You are not iTunes,
the only thing you have going for you is that
your prices are cheap... If you can't make a
system as painless as iTunes you will
go out of business.
Please let me redownload the songs which I paid
for but now don't have.
The album is
http://www.emusic.com/album/modwheelmood-Pearls-to-Pigs-MP3-Download/11475231.html

It says I have 7 tracks but I don't.
I'm getting sick of music's draconian "REPURCHASE"
policies requiring me to justify my existence
every time you have a bug in your software.
Yours, Disgruntled,

Craig Lloyd.
  1. August 1, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    It’s working for me, using the new V5 download manager, but for you the site ought to detect the download didn’t work. Try deleting the 30 second snippets.

    • nanchatte
      August 11, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      Hi… I contacted emusic and they graciously gave me $5 to cover the redownload fee…

  2. October 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    なんちゃって means half-arsed? orly? Well nice half-arse translation, because you did a good job effing that up!

    nanchatte means “just kidding”… I seriously hope your sub-header was just a joke.

    • nanchatte
      December 11, 2011 at 6:03 am

      Yeah, whatever. A bit like your Nanchatte Nihongo then!

  3. Ben Tierney
    January 15, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    I am still having trouble downloading Jonah Man Jazz disc which I have already paid for ?? I have updated download manager and it still does not come in .. please sort .. very disappointed

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment